Backgrounders on the Bible through Biblical Archaeology

1051: Back to Aphek


Tel Aphek is where it all started for me. With all that’s been going on in Israel lately, this week’s program answers the question: How did you get so attached to this corner of the world? It’s a lot more complicated than that, of course. But in 1978 I did something bold and daring, for me at least. I cashed in my life’s savings for a trip to Israel to dig in the dirt for a month and find out what archaeology was all about. I thought maybe I would become an archaeologist but decided to stick with radio. About five years later I found out I could combine the two with this radio program and have been doing it ever since.

A few years into the program, I had a chance to “catch up” with professor Moshe Kochavi, of Tel Aviv University. He was the director of the Aphek excavation. This week’s program, from the Book & The Spade archives, replays that interview.

Bibleplaces.com has some great photos and links that will help you enjoy this week’s interview with additional background information.

Leave a Reply

